The Missouri State Fair Commission was established by the Missouri Legislature effective September 1, 1995 through Missouri Revised Statutes (Chapter 262, Section 26.217).

The purpose of the Commission is to oversee the operation of the Missouri State Fair. It is responsible for the selection & supervision of the Fair director, & it has authority to lease or purchase land & accept or reject contracts.

Director Chris Chinn

Chris Chinn

Director of Missouri Agriculture
City: Jefferson City
Slot: Director of Missouri Agriculture
Term: Jan 2017

Kevin Roberts

Kevin Roberts

City: Hillsboro
Slot: County Fair Board Member or
Past President 2
Term: March 6, 2019 – Dec 29, 2022
Party: Democrat

Byron Roach

Harold “Byron” Roach

Vice Chairman
City: Cameron
Slot: Active Farmer 2
Term: March 14, 2024 – Dec 19, 2027
Party: Democrat

Ed Adams

Ed Adams

City: Kansas City
Slot: Active Farmer 1
Term: March 28, 2024 – Dec 29, 2024
Party: Republican

Jerald Andrews

City: Bolivar
Slot: At Large Member 2
Term: April 6, 2023 – Dec 29, 2026
Party: Democrat

Travis Elliott

Travis Elliott

City: Fair Grove
Slot: At Large Member 3
Term: March 14, 2024 – Dec 29, 2027
Party: Republican

Todd Hays

Todd Hays

City: Monroe City
Slot: County Fair Board Member or Past President 1
Term: Mar 28, 2024 – Dec 29, 2024

Jamie Johansen

Jamie Johansen

City: Lebanon
Slot: At Large Member 3
Term: March 14, 2024 – Dec 29, 2025
Party: Independent

Randy Little

City: Republic
Slot: Agribusiness Employee
Term: March 29, 2022 – Dec 29, 2025
Party: Republican

Membership Requirements

Two (2) members must be active farmers; two (2) must be current or past presidents of county or regional fair boards; one (1) must be the director of the Department of Agriculture; one (1) must be employed in agribusiness; & three (3) must be at-large members.

Commission Details

Number of Members: Nine (9)
Members Appointed by Governor: Nine (9)
Length of Term: Four (4) years
Senate Advice & Consent Required: Yes

Political Affiliation

Not more than four (4) members, excluding the Director of Agriculture, may be members of the same political party.

Geographic Affiliation

Geographic Affiliation is required. Not more than two (2) members may reside in the same congressional district, & members must reside in Missouri for at least five (5) years preceding appointment.