The Missouri State Fair Commission was established by the Missouri Legislature effective September 1, 1995 through Missouri Revised Statutes (Chapter 262, Section 26.217).

The purpose of the Commission is to oversee the operation of the Missouri State Fair. It is responsible for the selection and supervision of the Fair director, and it has authority to lease or purchase land and accept or reject contracts.

Membership Requirements
Two (2) members must be active farmers; two (2) must be current or past presidents of county or regional fair boards; one (1) must be the director of the Department of Agriculture; one (1) must be employed in agribusiness; and three (3) must be at-large members.

Commission Details

  • Number of Members: Nine (9)
  • Members Appointed by Governor: Nine (9)
  • Length of Term: Four (4) years
  • Senate Advice & Consent Required: Yes

Political Affiliation
Not more than four (4) members, excluding the Director of Agriculture, may be members of the same political party.

Geographic Affiliation
Geographic Affiliation is required. Not more than two (2) members may reside in the same congressional district, and members must reside in Missouri for at least five (5) years preceding appointment.

Chris Chinn

Chris Chinn
Director of Missouri Agriculture
City: Jefferson City
Slot: Director of Missouri Agriculture
Term: Jan 2017


Sherry Jones
City: Dawn
Slot: Active Farmer 1
Term: March 6, 2019 – Dec 29, 2020
Party: Republican


Don McQuitty
City: Sunrise Beach
Slot: Active Farmer 2
Term: April 14, 2016 – Dec 29, 2019
Party: Democrat


Nikki Cunningham
City: Rogersville
Slot: At Large Member 1
Term: Jan 2, 2018 – Dec 29, 2021
Party: Republican

Barbara Hayden

Barbara Hayden
City: Sedalia
Slot: At Large Member 2
Term: June 3, 2019 – Dec 29, 2022
Party: Republican


Ted E. Sheppard, Vice Chairman
City: Cabool
Slot: County Fair Board Member or Past President 1
Term: July 29, 2010 – Dec 29, 2012
Party: Republican


Kevin Roberts, Chairman
City: Hillsboro
Slot: County Fair Board Member or
Past President 2
Term: March 6, 2019 – Dec 29, 2022
Party: Democrat

Randy Little

Randy Little
City: Republic
Slot: Agribusiness Employee
Term: June 9, 2020 – Dec 29, 2021
Party: Republican

Jamie Johansen wearing a yellow tank top standing in front of greenery

Jamie Johansen
City: Lebanon
Slot: At Large Member 3
Term: June 1, 2021 – Dec 29, 2023
Party: Independent